Elecciones en Dominica: observadores de la OEA se reúnen con primer ministro


OAS election observers meet PM Skerrit

Prime Minister Skerrit has met with officials of the Election Observer Mission from the Organization of American States (OAS).

The Mission, which includes observers from Antigua and Barbuda, Canada, Chile, the United States and Venezuela, arrived in Dominica on Wednesday 3 December 2014 and met with Mr Skerrit on Thursday at the Financial Centre.

Prime Minister Skerrit wrote to three teams from the Commonwealth Secretariat, the Caribbean Community (CARICOM) and the Organization of American States (OAS) on Wednesday, November 19, 2014 inviting them to observe the general elections in “the interest of transparency and good governance”.

On Monday, the Secretary General of the Organization of American States (OAS), José Miguel Insulza, and the Permanent Representative of Dominica to the hemispheric Organization, Ambassador Hubert Charles, signed an agreement stipulating the conditions for the work of the Electoral Observation Mission (EOM) of the OAS that will observe the general elections on December 8th, 2014.

At the signing ceremony of the Agreement on the Privileges and Immunities of Observers, held at OAS headquarters in Washington, DC, Secretary General Insulza expressed his conviction that “Dominica will have a normal and peaceful electoral process.”

He said the OAS has been present “in 54 elections in the Caribbean since 1962” and this will be the second Election Observer Mission in Dominica.

Ambassador Charles said “we are very pleased and happy with the presence of the OAS,” and expressed confidence that the report that will be prepared by the Mission at the end of the electoral process “will be run on a very professional level”.
The OAS leader appointed as Chief of Mission the Secretary for Multidimensional Security of the OAS, Ambassador Adam Blackwell.

It is anticipated that the team will also hold meetings with representatives of political parties, media and social organizations.

The team from the Commonwealth Secretariat is headed by Jean-Pierre Kingsley, former Chief Electoral Officer of Elections in Canada.

Dominica Vives

Más notas sobre el tema