San Cristóbal y Nieves: publican resultados definitivos de las elecciones del 16 de febrero


The final results of the February 16 general elections in St Kitts and Nevis have finally been made available to some media houses by supervisor of elections Wingrove George.

The release of the information last Wednesday came over two weeks after the national poll was held.

It shows that in Constituency Number One Labour candidate Dr Asim Martin received 1,727 votes to PAM’s Ian ‘Patches’ Liburd’s 1,731, making Liburd the winner by four votes.

The results also confirm that Labour’s Marcella Liburd got 1,758 votes to PAM’s Jonel Powell’s 1,660 in Constituency #2. The former health minister won the seat by 98 votes.

In Constituency Number 3, Labour’s Konris Maynard won by 272 votes – his total was 1,348 to the 1,076 obtained by Sam Condor of the PLP. That constituency had the most spoilt ballots in the election – 26.

Constituency 4 saw PAM’s Lindsay Grant getting 1,252 votes, winning the seat by 36 votes. His rival Glen Phillip of the St Kitts and Nevis Labour Party got 1,216 votes.

PAM leader Shawn Richards in Constituency #5 had 1,245 people vote for him while his rival, Labour’s Dr Norgen Wilson received 884 votes. That means that Richards got 361 more votes than Wilson.

In Constituency Number 6, Dr Denzil Douglas had a sweeping victory, getting 1,969 votes to the 200 obtained by PAM’s Vernon Connor. The Douglas win was by a huge margin of 1,769.

Team Unity and the PLP prevailed in Constituency #7 – Dr Timothy Harris polled 1,647 votes to Vance Gilbert’s 867. Harris got 780 votes more than Labour’s Gilbert.

The race in Number 8 was won by PAM’s Eugene Hamilton – he got 2,364 votes to Dr Terrance Drew’s 2,128. Hamilton received 236 more votes there than Drew.

In Nevis, Constituency Number 9, the fight was between CCM’s Mark Brantley and NRP’s Robelto Hector. The final tally shows Brantley 2,033, Hector 1,715. That translates into 318 more votes for Brantley. That constituency had the highest number of rejected ballots in the election – 19.

Nevis Premier Vance Amory easily retained his Constituency Number Ten seat, getting 754 to the 306 won by NRP’s Corey Tyson. Amory got 448 votes more than his rival.

The former foreign affairs minister Patrice Nisbett was also able to retain his Constituency Number 11 seat. The NRP’s Nisbett received 1,255 votes – the CCM’s Alexis Jeffers got 1,164. Nisbett polled 91 more votes than Jeffers.

The results confirmed what the supervisor of elections had already reported on the evening of Tuesday February 17, the day after the elections, namely, that the PAM/PLP/CCM coalition won 7 of the 11 seats, with the other four going to the SKNLP/NRP.

In terms of the coalition PAM won four seats, the PLP one and the CCM two.

Caribbean News Now

Más notas sobre el tema